Call / Text
877 - 452 - 8865

High Security Locks

The lock industry defines a high security lock cylinder as: a cylinder which offers a greater degree of resistance to any or all of the following: picking, bumping, impressions, key duplication, drilling or other forms of forcible entry.

The ability to control the creation, distribution, and cutting of keys for a given lock can greatly increase the security of the keying system for a given lock. Most high security locks have key bows and warding patterns that are patent protected to prevent unauthorized manufacturing. Keys to high security locks also generally require a security card for an authorized locksmith to duplicate keys. Moreover, many also require a specialized key cutting machine.

Most residences have standard security locks such as Schlage®or Kwikset®. Usually these brands are equipped with standard security cylinders, even in their grade 2 and grade 1 offerings. Since a specific brand of lock is usually very popular in a particular geographic area, and the population usually exceeds 3,000, most likely there are two or more houses that have the same key.

On the other hand, high security locks traditionally offer a very high number of real and theoretical key alterations to prevent cross keying. Almost all high-security locks have components designed to resist manipulation from lock-picking and decoding attacks. Security pins are the most popular example of anti-manipulation components in pin-tumbler locks. Some locks also have components designed to resist imitating and key bumping.

High security cylinders are made to be “virtually” pick-proof and usually have hardened steel inserts in them to help prevent physical attack by drilling. There are a variety of types of high security cylinders made by several different companies, such as M-T-L®, Medeco®, and Schlage Primus®.

High Security Locks

There are 3 grades of locks:

  • Grade 1 –Heavy Duty Commercial /Industrial/ Heavy Duty Residential
  • Grade 2 – Heavy duty residential / light duty commercial
  • Grade 3­– Basic Residential Security

Grade 1 locks, also known as Hercular® Deadbolts, are a High Security deadbolt system used for commercial and residential doors. The options for Grade 1 locks are:

  • Standard faceplate
  • Drive in (for beveled doors)
  • Double cylinder
  • Single cylinder
  • Captive key deadbolt

Grade 2 locks, also known as Cronus locks, provide protection for residential and commercial doors. The options for Grade 2 locks are:

  • Single cylinder (with thumb turn)
  • Double cylinder

Grade 3 locks only meet residential building requirements and provide minimal residential security.

  • Single cylinder (with thumb turn)
  • Double cylinder

Need high security locks for your home or business? Call us today for a free price quote on hardware and installation! We are an elite dealer of Mul-T-Lock and our knowledgeable team of experts is ready to assist you.

Areas We Serve